Society — The Coveted Company

Quotidian Tales
4 min readJul 4, 2021

A perpetually hard thing to resist

I have stayed alone in an apartment for five months. I interacted with people only over the phone or when I was outside for work or shopping. Nothing seemed unbearable, though my close ones advised me to be more social.

I slept and woke up on time. I cooked and ate diligently to keep myself healthy. I took showers every day. I watched television, read books, pampered myself once in a while, and sincerely claimed that I was staying alone in an apartment.

Now, years later, with age and comprehension, I renewed my understanding of my state back through those days. I discover that I was reasonably involved with society! A conclusion that formulated when I envisioned a speculative plot, where I carefully and deliberately eliminate all associations around me.

In this plot, I am without society, and the picture looks entirely different. Much of me has changed. Now, I only eat when I am hungry. Pampering or grooming takes a backseat as now no one cares about my appearance, and I am not clicking selfies anymore. Or even if I click one, it would be for the sake of an older me reminiscing a younger one. They are two entities as it is.

Television, books, and social media are removed by norm as they are entertainment presented by society. I would probably stargaze or write my book. However, my sleep cycle remains unchanged, possibly attributed to my love for the morning air. Also, I can arrange for the minimal amenities of my life by…

--

--